Sign In | My Books | My Account

Hardy Boys series

The Hardy Boys, Frank and Joe Hardy, are fictional characters who appear in various mystery series for children and teens.

The characters were created by Edward Stratemeyer, the founder of the Stratemeyer Syndicate, a book-packaging firm, and the books have been written by many different ghostwriters over the years. The books are published under the collective pseudonym Franklin W. Dixon.

Books in the Hardy Boys series:

The House on the Cliff (1927)

The House On The Cliff is the second book in the original The Hardy Boys Mystery Stories published by Grosset & Dunlap. The book ranks 72nd on the Publishers Weekly’s All-Time Bestselling Children’s Book List in the United States with 1,712,433 copies sold as of 2001. This book is one of the “Original 10” Hardy Boys books and is an excellent example of the writing style used by the Stratemeyer Syndicate’s writers. This style influenced many other “youth adventure series” books that the Stratemeyer Syndicate also published, including the Nancy Drew series (designed as a corollary to The Hardy Boys written from the perspective of young girls). the Tom Swift adventure series, the Bobbsey Twins and other lesser known series. All of them used a unique writing style that made the very recognizable as Stratemeyer product.

Author: Franklin W. Dixon
Illustrator: None

Details »